Log in
Log in

The American Association
of Nurse Attorneys

Foundation Awards

Community Grant Award

The Foundation gives an unrestricted Community Grant to a charitable organization in the city where TAANA’s annual educational conference is held.  The Community Grant recipient generally is an organization that provides legal and or healthcare services to a vulnerable population in that city or area.  

Award Recipients

2023 - The Littlest Heroes, Cleveland, OH
2020 - Nurses Home
2019 - Children’s Law Center of Minnesota
2017 - The Medical Legal Partnership of Boston
2016 - WINGS Dallas, Nurse-Family Partnership, Dallas, TX
2015 - CASA Philadelphia2014 - The Shade Tree, Las Vegas, NV
2013 - SAFE Shelter Center for Domestic Violence Services
2012 - Health Law Advocates of Louisiana
2011 - Seattle Cancer Care Alliance, Seattle, WA
2010 - Frontier Nursing Services, Wendover, KY
2009 - Cancer Services of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM
2008 - Florida Kinship Center, Tampa, FL
2007 - Women’s Resource Center of Newport & Bristel Counties
2006 - La Casa de las Madres , San Francisco, CA
2005 - Tri-Cities Well-Child Clinic, Chicago, IL
2004 - Quest, Orlando (Apopka), FL

Mary Eleanor McGarvah Award

The Foundation may present a humanitarian award in honor of Mary Eleanor McGarvah, the first nurse attorney. The Mary Eleanor McGarvah Award recognizes the significant contributions Ms. McGarvah, and the award recipients, have made to society by humanitarian efforts, the development of the public health, law, nursing or public policy.

The first McGarvah Award was presented to Tipper Gore in 1998. Notable Former Recipients:

2017 – Anita Hill, view the press release
2014 – Teri Mills, RN, MS, CNE; President, National Nursing Network Organization
2006 – Barbara Safriet, JD
2003 – U.S. Rep Lois Capps (CA)
1998 – Tipper Gore

Support the Foundation

The Foundation relies on contributions from nurse attorneys and the public. The TAANA Foundation is a 501(c)3 nonprofit charity. Donations are tax deductible to the extent of the law. Donations may be made to the Student Scholarship, general Foundation charitable fund or in honor or in memory of someone at any time. Donations can be made at the Foundation website,, by downloading a printable donation form, (pdf), or with annual membership dues, with registration for TAANA’s annual educational conference, contacting the Foundation’s Administrator, or in person at the Annual Meeting.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software